#ThisGirlCan

With International Women’s day being held this past week, it would be down right wrong not to pay homage to those empowering women who have paved the way for us women to stand in the position we are in today.

Seeing tweets acknowledging those including Rosa Parks, Amelia Earhart and Emma Watson really got me thinking. Not I may be a little late to be the first woman to fly around the world, and me refusing to budge off a bus would just make me miss my stop. Not that I’m in anyway demeaning the acts of these incredible women, but it begs the question, what can I do?

The Women’s right’s movement has achieved so much throughout the 19th and 20th century and is still creating a new world where men and women live in equality.

So that still leaves the question, what about me?

I’m all for sticking up for myself and will happily fight for my equal stature in society with my male counterparts, and I think I found the answer to my question.

Working for a rugby team as part of their media crew, I am definitely in a predominantly male environment. The 30 players on the pitch, the 16 on the bench (both sides) to the four male coaches and medical personnel. Not to mention the twenty plus members of the press that come into the press room all bah two are male.

Now I’m certainly not slating my employers here, far from it, I love my job! But the male to female ratio in this line of work is nearing on 90-10. So I think i found my solution!

 

Being a female in a predominantly “man’s world” can be challenging. But why is this industry so male orientated?

We have a female rugby team, a national one, but you never hear even half the stories from these sides. So surely one of the incentives for girls playing these sports should be the recognition from the media?

The pecking order seems to put the Ladies at the bottom of the pile, and it begs the question would Wales Women’s team sell out the Principality Stadium like their male counterparts? With popularity for the ladies side not at the highest, the girls are unfairly left to play in the shadows of the National stadium in the Arms Park and even less crowded grounds. (No disrespect to those grounds, i’m just trying to make a point).

It’s a breath of fresh air to see Gabby Logan, Sarra Elgan, Claire Baldwin and Catrin Heledd grace the screens when a major sporting event is on. And these gals aren’t just the eye candy, even though they are good looking, they damn right know what their talking about.

The good looks are merely a bonus, and should not be used for people to mock purely because they are women talking about a “guy’s topic.”

Yes you have the pundits, the ex players, all male, but why not have more women involved in the man’s game? Instead of segregating the women to a different channel and a lower level of importance. Surely the best way to promote rugby for girls is by covering it more? Putting it on tv, having chat shows about it and even discussing the side for more than a two minute slot on a 45 minute show.

Now this has inspired me to make my way further into this industry and give women a louder voice in sport! I may only be a woman in my early twenties juggling two jobs, studying towards a course and trying to maintain a social life in between. But I will make it happen and get there soon 🙂 I kind of have my foot in the door, it’s just time for me to kick it down! #ThisGirlCan

Leave a Reply

